Person-apps-ity: My Top Five Favorite Apps

I’ve only started using my iPod for eight weeks. In that span of time, it has gone from being a music player to becoming the ultimate photography tool. Like everyone else, I’m attached to the device and it is a must-have in the bag.  The iPod, like any other device, is only useful with apps. So here are my top five personal favorites of which I have on my iPod and a few of which are on my Android phone as well.

One: Evernote

The Evernote App

Being a writer at heart, I am used to bringing a notebook or sketchpad with me wherever I go. Thanks to the Evernote app, all I need is my iPod or Android device. It’s like having a pen and paper at the ready without the additional weight. Its other features include: to-do lists, voice reminders, capture photos and attach to notes – all in the palm of your hand. The best part is that the notes are easily searchable. Unlike with the actual notebook where you have to go through the trouble of physically flipping through the pages to find the exact note. To date, I have 17 notes in my “notebook” entitled, “Ramblings & Reminiscing”. The Evernote app is installed on both my iPod and Android phone.

Two: Kindle

The Kindle App

This is the perfect app for book worms like me who can’t live a day without reading. While I enjoy reading “actual” books, my books,”Dracula” or “Sherlock Holmes”, are too heavy and big to fit into my everyday work bag. Thanks to the Kindle Book Reader, I can enjoy reading e-books on my iPod. Like tangible books, the Kindle app has a “bookmark” to keep you updated on the page from where you last left off. The only downside would probably be not being able to sniff the addictive scent of new books. Haha

Three:Camera360

The Camera360 App

I’m not really good with cameras. Fact is, I don’t own one nor do I plan to get one for myself. Why? Well, I suck at taking good photographs with a professional camera. Yet, like anybody else, I’m a shutterbug when it comes to a handheld device such as the iPod or cellphone. With the Camera360, all the photos I take look as if they’ve been taken with a professional camera. Photo editing is as easy as counting from one to three. So who needs a DLSR when you have this app on your iOS device?

Four: Picstitch

The Picstitch App

Again another photo editing tool perfect for iOS users. Got a lot of pics you want to compress into one frame? Well, with the Picstitch app, you get to choose from a range of layouts to put in all the photos you want. It also offers photo editing tools perfect for your taste. It’s easy and definitely a must-have on any iOS device.

Five: Instagram

The Instagram App

Now who doesn’t have this app? I’ve got this installed on both my iPod and Android phone. Apart from the ease of taking photos, it allows you to edit and share these photos to hundreds of users. Instagram makes photo editing an easy and uber fun activity.

So there you have it, my top five favorite apps that best sum up me as a person – a bookworm, a writer and a wannabe photographer.

11 comments

  1. bloggerizta · July 6, 2012

    I think there’s no need for the apostrophe for the phrase “Its other features…”. Am i right? haha! Second, “It’s easy and it is definitely a must-have on any iOS device” can also be written as “It’s easy and definitely a must-have on any iOS device.” Don’t forget the period as well, dear. And last, be careful with punctuations. Anyway, nice apps. Wish I can try them all. 🙂

  2. milkybunnie · July 6, 2012

    “Its’ other features include: to-do lists, voice reminders, capture photos and attach to notes – all in the palm of your hand” omit the apostrophe 🙂 love thisss post!:)

  3. Snippy Snips · July 6, 2012

    I agree with milkybunnie and bloggerizta on the apostrophe. 🙂 Again, another well-presented post. I think the Evernote app will match my note-taking habits. Haha. 🙂 The only problem is, I don’t have the gadget needed for it. HAHA.

    • Shiol.Devincross · July 6, 2012

      haha, yup, edited! 🙂
      Get one for yer birthday or christmas! 😄

  4. daintydreamer · July 6, 2012

    Nice post! I’m also eyeing for those apps! But, I must get myself an Android phone first to enjoy such fun apps! Haha 🙂

    • Shiol.Devincross · July 6, 2012

      get an iOS device instead! the iOS platform has better apps 😛

  5. milkybunnie · July 6, 2012

    I love how you have this list of apps that actually defy your personality. It’s a post that’s personal yet informative.:):):)) anyway, your apps are definitely a must have!:)

  6. Lindsey · July 10, 2012

    This is a message to the webmaster. I came to your “Person-apps-ity: My Top Five Favorite Apps Sheepishness and Shenanigans” page via Google but it was hard to find as you were not on the front page of search results. This means you are missing out on a ton of web traffic from the search engines. I have found a website which offers to dramatically increase your rankings and traffic to your website: http://www.linklegends.com/7-day-free-trial. I managed to get close to 1000 visitors/day using their services, you could also get lot more targeted visitors from search engines than you have now. Hope this helps 🙂 Take care.

Leave a Reply

