Artsy Fartsy: Making Things Easy in a Digital World

It’s easy to express yourself when it comes to art. You can express your thoughts and feelings through dance, music, a poem or through drawings. For me, I express my innermost thoughts, ideas and feelings through my drawings. I’m not as gifted as Leonardo Da Vinci nor am I the modern day Picasso but I know I’m pretty good with a pen and paper. All thanks to video games, anime and manga, I learned to draw. So why the arts?

A few of my favorite characters from all versions of Final Fantasy

Well, I’ve actually dreamed of working for Square Enix simply because their art is AMAZING.Β  Working for them is one step closer to my dream of becoming one of the animators for Final Fantasy but where I am now is a bit too far from where I dreamed of being in. Ironic, I know. Another thing to note, I’m more of the traditional artist who draws better with a pencil over paper. Plus, taking up courses on digital art are way too expensive. Oh and since I am talking about art, here are just two of my most recent “deviations”. I have a few more over at my Deviant Art page. Click here.

Zee traditional art. Hihi

Thankfully, there’s a tool that can save us a lot of money. All you need would be the epic tool created by the brilliant minds of Wacom. Introducing “The Inkling”, it’s the Wacom drawing tablet WITHOUT the tablet. Imagine being able to draw on paper and have all your movements recorded and sent directly to your computer. “The Inkling” bridges the gap from traditional to digital.

The Inkling: The Wacom Tablet without the Tablet

The set includes an actual pen with ink plus a sensor that tracks its position. Now, there are limitations to the device, it NEEDS line-of-sight. The tracking area only corresponds with an A4-sized paper plus your pen can’t get too close to the sensor. For a price of $199, you can learn everything there is to know about digital art right in the comforts of your own home. This baby is definitely going into my Christmas wishlist.

Check out the video bellow and start puking rainbows. Haha

18 comments

  1. daintydreamer · July 6, 2012

    Cool! Just noticed this: “The set includes an actual pen with actual ink plus a sensor that tracks its’ position.” – it’s

    • Shiol.Devincross · July 6, 2012

      uh wouldn’t that make it into it is position? O.o i’m confused πŸ˜„

      • daintydreamer · July 6, 2012

        Oooopsie! I stand corrected. Hahaha :))) My head is aching though :p

      • Shiol.Devincross · July 6, 2012

        hahahaha, we are on the same boat, no worries πŸ˜„

  2. milkybunnie · July 6, 2012

    omg I so love your artworks on DA!!!:)

  3. Snippy Snips · July 6, 2012

    Haha. So we’re now loving “rainbows”. πŸ™‚ Cool device you presented here… Makes me wanna learn how to draw!

    • Shiol.Devincross · July 6, 2012

      yehes~ picked that up from you! πŸ˜„ i shall teach you, you want? πŸ˜„

  4. lowestofthekeys · July 6, 2012

    Argh, I’ve been wanting one of these for a while.

    Though now I’ve been glamoured with the thought of turning a tablet into a digital sketching pad.

    So I’m effectively torn…though price-wise, Inkling is a better deal.

    • Shiol.Devincross · July 6, 2012

      well, I’m torn too. haha
      i’m actually thinking of buying a wacom tablet by next month.
      after which I save up for the inkling just to compare which one works best. πŸ™‚

      • lowestofthekeys · July 6, 2012

        How much are you looking to spend on your tablet?

        If you can front a thousand, I’d say go for a cintiq 12wx. I have one and it works great, sans the loss of mobility when compared to the wireless wacom tablets.

      • Shiol.Devincross · July 6, 2012

        i’m only planning to get the wacom creative tablet which is priced at $120. I’m not that skilled at drawing so i don’t think i’ll be purchasing a cintiq 12wx. haha πŸ˜„

      • lowestofthekeys · July 6, 2012

        Aw, good start with that type of Wacom tablet.

        Also, you’re probably better than you realize at drawing πŸ˜‰

      • Shiol.Devincross · July 6, 2012

        ahaha, thank you. πŸ™‚

      • lowestofthekeys · July 6, 2012

        No problem πŸ™‚

        Keep drawing too, I wanna see your art!

      • Shiol.Devincross · July 6, 2012

        haha, will do! πŸ™‚

  5. bloggerizta · July 9, 2012

    Cool! I wish I also know how to draw. Anyway, for the sentence β€œ…an actual pen with actual ink plus a sensor that tracks its’ position.”, its’ should be written as β€œits”; β€œwith actual ink” should be β€œwith an actual ink” perhaps; or better yet try a different word for ‘actual’. Hihi πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

